Curbside Pickup Service Begins May 26                         Register for Summer Reading 2020

My only story: : a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Language:
English
Description
An unconventional love story frames this graceful, funny, and moving novel by a writer of exceptional talent. Rita, a hair stylist in her 20s attuned to the suffering of others and the ways that she can help, meets John Reed who, she observes, though not yet out of his thirties, "...seemed old, the way all sad people do." As they come to know, trust, and eventually love one another, John tells Rita "his only story," the one story that each of us tells that defines us the most. In a dark, terrible moment five years earlier, John's brother Roger killed his own wife and then himself, orphaning their then 3-year-old daughter, Aileen. After Aileen is adopted by her dead mother's close-knit trio of sisters, John is excluded from contact with her in memory of his brother's tragic act. With Rita's help, ties are slowly reestablished with Aileen, and John and Rita's own relationship moves in a direction that seems at once inevitable and completely unexpected. An exploration of love, sacrifice, and the bonds of family which will appeal to readers of Lorrie Moore, Ann Hood, and Rosellyn Brown, Monica Wood's novel speaks to our deepest longing and brightest hopes.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780811827140
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID056137d1-a57e-a697-6ed5-113e106ce06d
Grouping Titlemy only story
Grouping Authorwood monica
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-17 01:50:01AM
Last Indexed2020-06-04 03:20:20AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorWood, Monica.
author_displayWood, Monica
available_at_bemisBemis Public Library
detailed_location_bemisBemis Fiction
display_description
format_bemisBook
format_category_bemisBooks
id056137d1-a57e-a697-6ed5-113e106ce06d
isbn9780811827140
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b15567904.i124501187Bemis FictionFICTION WOOD, MONI1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 15, 2017befic
itype_bemisJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2020-06-04T09:20:20.475Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_bemisFICTION WOOD,MONI
owning_library_bemisBemis Public Library
owning_location_bemisBemis Public Library
primary_isbn9780811827140
publishDate2000
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b15567904BookBooksEnglishChronicle Books, [2000]293 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_bemis
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15567904.i124501187On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
subject_facetBeauty operators -- Fiction
Romance fiction
title_displayMy only story : : a novel
title_fullMy only story : a novel / Monica Wood
title_shortMy only story
title_sub: a novel
topic_facetBeauty operators