Mama Flora's family: [a novel]

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of "Roots" and "Queen, Mama Flora's Family" is a sweeping epic of contemporary American history, culled from the unpublished works of award-winning writer Alex Haley. It is the poignant story of three generations of an African-American family who start out as destitute sharecroppers in Tennessee.

Mama Flora is the heart and strength of the family, shepherding her children through hard times after the murder of her husband by white landholders. She has passionate ambitions for her son Willie, but he dashes her dreams by abandoning his church-going roots and moving to Chicago. After fighting in the Second World War, he marries his childhood sweetheart and struggles to build a new urban life for his family.

Flora's dreams are realized by Ruthana, her sister's child, whom Mama Flora adopts. Ruthana graduates from college, and as a social worker in Harlem, counsels underprivileged women. Through her love for the radical poet Ben, Ruthana begins to understand her heritage, and after a sojourn in Africa comes to a redemptive understanding of herself.

In Chicago, Willie's twin son and daughter embrace Muslim mili

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID8605132e-4c50-9bb2-9e58-2c995af1b79d
Grouping Titlemama flora s family
Grouping Authorhaley alex
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-29 01:19:30AM
Last Indexed2019-12-09 02:56:01AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Frillmann, Karen.
Mironov, Jeff.
Morgan, Debbi.
Stead, Arthur.
Stevens, David, 1940-
Stevens, David, 1940-2018.
Thomas, Leslie.
authorHaley, Alex.
author2-roleFrillmann, Karen.
Mironov, Jeff.
Morgan, Debbi.
Stead, Arthur.
Stevens, David,1940-
Stevens, David,1940-2018.
Thomas, Leslie.
hoopla digital.
author_displayHaley, Alex
available_at_bemisBemis Public Library
detailed_location_bemisBemis Fiction
display_descriptionIn the tradition of Roots and Queen, Mama Flora's Family is a sweeping epic of contemporary American history, culled from the unpublished works of award-winning writer Alex Haley. It is the poignant story of three generations of an African-American family who start out as destitute sharecroppers in Tennessee. Mama Flora is the heart and strength of the family, shepherding her children through hard times after the murder of her husband by white land holders. She has passionate ambitions for her son Willie, but he dashes her dreams by abandoning his church-going roots and moving to Chicago. After fighting in the Second World War, he marries his childhood sweetheart and struggles to build a new urban life for his family. Flora's dreams are realized by Ruthana, her sister's child, whom Mama Flora adopts. Ruthana graduates from college, and as a social worker in Harlem, counsels underprivileged women. Through her love for the radical poet Ben, Ruthana begins to understand her heritage, and after a sojourn in Africa comes to a redemptive understanding of herself. In Chicago, Willie's twin son and daughter embrace Muslim militancy and Black Power, and eventually, drugs on their rocky road through the 1960s. Mama Flora struggles to maintain her family, but she also is caught up in the turbulent times. Mama Flora's Family is an American tale as dramatic and touching as anything Alex Haley ever wrote.
format_bemisBook
eAudiobook
format_category_bemisAudio Books
Books
eBook
id8605132e-4c50-9bb2-9e58-2c995af1b79d
isbn9780684834719
9780743549875
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11752583Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11752583?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b59133661.i124446826Bemis FictionFICTION HALEY, ALEX1falsefalseOn Shelfbefic
itype_bemisJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2019-12-09T09:56:01.968Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_bemisFICTION HALEY,ALEX
local_time_since_added_bemisYear
owning_library_bemisBemis Public Library
owning_location_bemisBemis Public Library
primary_isbn9780684834719
publishDate1998
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT11752583eAudiobookAudio BooksAbridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, 1998.1 online resource (1 audio file (5hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b59133661BookBooksEnglishScribner, 1998.393 pages
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_bemis
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11752583Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b59133661.i124446826On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
subject_facetAfrican American families -- Tennessee -- Fiction
African Americans -- Tennessee -- Fiction
Audiobooks
Fiction
Tennessee -- Fiction
title_displayMama Flora's family
title_fullMama Flora's family / Alex Haley and David Stevens
Mama Flora's family : [a novel] [electronic resource] / Alex Haley with David Stevens
title_shortMama Flora's family
title_sub[a novel]
topic_facetAfrican American families
African Americans
Audiobooks