Curbside Pickup & Computers by Appointment Hours: Mon-Sat, 11 a.m.- 4 p.m
Find Curbside Pickup Instructions here.
  Sign up for a Computer Appointment here. 
 

Archangel: A novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Language:
English
Description
“An outstandingly intelligent and significant novel” about greed and environmental devastation from the author of the Booker Prize-nominated Night Over Day Over Night    * Booklist   Logger Noah Mackenzie has a bitter history with the Algonquin wilderness, and now he’s determined to clear-cut the part he considers his own. The only person in the remote Maine town of Abenaki Junction putting up any fight for the forest is Madeleine Cody, publisher of a small newspaper, the Forest Sentinel .   Using the paper to draw attention to the plight of the Algonquin forest, Madeleine has endeavored to put an end to excessive deforestation, through nonviolent means. But when Adam Gabriel—an ex-fighter pilot, Abenaki Junction born-and-raised—returns to the town from spiking trees out West, the protest takes a dangerous new direction.   Praise for Archangel   “Paul Watkins is without question one of the most gifted writers of his generation.” —Tobias Wolff   “Crisp, satisfying . . . . The forest over which the characters are struggling takes on a memorable vibrancy and life.” — Elle   “Rich characterizations and a seamless narrative bring to roaring life this tale of environmental conflict. . . . Watkins evokes the grandeur of the woods as well as the wild unpredictability of both natural and social violence.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)   “A wonderful literary adventure novel, squarely in the tradition of Deliverance and Legends of the Fall .” —Howard Frank Mosher
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780679443919
9780307799807
9781449871543
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDaa3e6186-1c2d-eb6f-f1b8-d71d2ed882ef
Grouping Titlearchangel
Grouping Authorpaul watkins
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-01 01:28:16AM
Last Indexed2021-01-21 01:14:59AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Guidall, George.
authorWatkins, Paul.
author2-roleGuidall, George.
Guidall, George.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayWatkins, Paul
available_at_bemisBemis Public Library
detailed_location_bemisBemis Fiction
display_description“An outstandingly intelligent and significant novel” about greed and environmental devastation from the author of the Booker Prize-nominated Night Over Day Over Night    * Booklist   Logger Noah Mackenzie has a bitter history with the Algonquin wilderness, and now he’s determined to clear-cut the part he considers his own. The only person in the remote Maine town of Abenaki Junction putting up any fight for the forest is Madeleine Cody, publisher of a small newspaper, the Forest Sentinel .   Using the paper to draw attention to the plight of the Algonquin forest, Madeleine has endeavored to put an end to excessive deforestation, through nonviolent means. But when Adam Gabriel—an ex-fighter pilot, Abenaki Junction born-and-raised—returns to the town from spiking trees out West, the protest takes a dangerous new direction.   Praise for Archangel   “Paul Watkins is without question one of the most gifted writers of his generation.” —Tobias Wolff   “Crisp, satisfying . . . . The forest over which the characters are struggling takes on a memorable vibrancy and life.” — Elle   “Rich characterizations and a seamless narrative bring to roaring life this tale of environmental conflict. . . . Watkins evokes the grandeur of the woods as well as the wild unpredictability of both natural and social violence.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)   “A wonderful literary adventure novel, squarely in the tradition of Deliverance and Legends of the Fall .” —Howard Frank Mosher
format_bemisBook
eAudiobook
format_category_bemisAudio Books
Books
eBook
idaa3e6186-1c2d-eb6f-f1b8-d71d2ed882ef
isbn9780307799807
9780679443919
9781449871543
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrivecmc:ODN0005552520ODN0005552520Overdrive (CMC)Online Overdrive (CMC)eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverdrive (CMC)http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=162&titleID=5552520Available OnlineOverdrive (CMC)
rbdigitalaudiomontrose:rbz90001277rbz90001277RBdigital Audio (Montrose)Online RBdigital Audio (Montrose)eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigital Audio (Montrose)https://montroseco.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781449871543Available OnlineRBdigital Audio (Montrose)
ils:.b59118155.i124403682Bemis FictionFICTION WATKINS, P1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 27, 2020befic
overdrivecmc:ODN0000663742ODN0000663742Overdrive (CMC)Online Overdrive (CMC)eBookeBook1falsetrueOverdrive (CMC)http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=162&titleID=663742Available OnlineOverdrive (CMC)
hoopla:MWT13538868Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13538868?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_bemisJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2021-01-21T08:14:59.548Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_bemisFICTION WATKINS,P
owning_library_bemisBemis Public Library
owning_location_bemisBemis Public Library
primary_isbn9780679443919
publishDate1995
1996
2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrivecmc:ODN0005552520eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books, Inc., 1996.1 online resource (13 audio files) : digital
rbdigitalaudiomontrose:rbz90001277eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books ;2011, p1996.1 sound file (11 hr., 45 min.) : digital.
ils:.b59118155BookBooksEnglishRandom House, [1995]287 pages.
overdrivecmc:ODN0000663742eBookeBookEnglish2011.1 online resource
hoopla:MWT13538868eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books, Inc., 1996.1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 43 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_bemis
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b59118155.i124403682On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 170, 11, 171, 12, 13, 14, 15
hoopla:MWT13538868Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAdventure stories
Deforestation -- Control -- Maine -- Fiction
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
Fiction
Forest protection -- Maine -- Fiction
Green movement -- Maine -- Fiction
Literature
title_displayArchangel
title_fullArchangel / Paul Watkins
Archangel [electronic resource] / Paul Watkins
Archangel [electronic resource] : A novel. Paul Watkins
Archangel [electronic resource]. Paul Watkins
title_shortArchangel
title_subA novel
topic_facetControl
Deforestation
Fiction
Forest protection
Green movement
Literature