The conjurer

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
Description
From the celebrated coauthor of the Nero Blanc Crossword Puzzle Mysteries comes this elegant and richly nuanced new series debut in the tradition of The Alienist, Maisie Dobbs, and Girl with a Pearl Earring. Intrigue, passion, and murder surround the suspicious disappearance of Philadelphia financier Lemuel Beale in the winter of 1842. A victim of accidental drowning, according to the local constabulary, Beale leaves a sinister legacy of political and financial scheming---and a troubled heiress, his daughter, Martha, his only child. Martha Beale is unmarried at twenty-six, in an era when women are expected to become brides before turning twenty. Normally sheltered and shy, she instigates a search for her father, and in so doing, develops a romantic attachment to Thomas Kelman, an assistant to Philadelphia's mayor---and a man whose business is homicide investigation. The inquiry into Lemuel's disappearance uncovers connections between the city's most affluent and most destitute: an escaped inmate from the infamous Eastern State Penitentiary; the freed African-American prisoner, Ruth; the ritual slayings of several young girl prostitutes; and Eusapio Paladino, a conjurer and necromancer who claims to communicate with the dead. Written with exquisite historical detail and fast-paced intrigue, The Conjurer is a thrilling start to an exceptional new series.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780312352462
9781480490642
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe43faa60-248c-9d6a-e4be-cf6f8e80a564
Grouping Titleconjurer
Grouping Authorbiddle cordelia frances
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-29 01:19:30AM
Last Indexed2019-12-11 03:37:49AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorBiddle, Cordelia Frances,
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayBiddle, Cordelia Frances
available_at_bemisBemis Public Library
detailed_location_bemisBemis Fiction
display_descriptionAn heiress breaks free of social conventions and attempts to solve the mystery of her father's disappearance in 1842 Philadelphia in Cordelia Frances Biddle's first Martha Beale mystery When her father fails to appear for lunch at their country estate, Martha Beale knows something is wrong. The family's faithful dogs discover Lemuel Beale's hunting rifle by the river, but there is no sign of the millionaire financier. Refusing to believe he is dead, his daughter-and sole heir-begins a discreet investigation with the help of the mayor's aide, Thomas Kelman. But Philadelphia in 1842 is a dangerous place for a female, especially a twenty-six-year-old single woman. Martha's quest for answers takes her from the pinnacle of high society, which is abuzz about a visiting European conjurer who communicates with the dead, to the city's tragic slums where a brutal killer is targeting young prostitutes-and through it all Martha will confront the most ruthless aspects of human nature. In a story deeply rooted in time and place and brimming with atmosphere and suspense, Cordelia Frances Biddle conjures a mesmerizing world of intrigue and hidden desires.
format_bemisBook
eBook
format_category_bemisBooks
eBook
ide43faa60-248c-9d6a-e4be-cf6f8e80a564
isbn9780312352462
9781480490642
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11559814Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11559814Available Online
ils:.b26910937.i122977592Bemis FictionM FICTION BIDDLE, C1falsefalseOn Shelfbefic
itype_bemisJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2019-12-11T10:37:49.558Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_bemisM FICTION BIDDLE,C
local_time_since_added_bemisYear
owning_library_bemisBemis Public Library
owning_location_bemisBemis Public Library
primary_isbn9780312352462
publishDate2007
2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT11559814eBookeBookEnglishOpen Road Media, 2014.1 online resource
ils:.b26910937BookBooks1st ed.EnglishSt. Martin's Minotaur, 2007.306 pages ; 22 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_bemis
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11559814Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b26910937.i122977592On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
seriesMartha Beale mysteries
series_with_volumeMartha Beale mysteries|1
subject_facetClairvoyants -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Historical fiction
Murder victims -- Fiction
Philadelphia (Pa.) -- Fiction
Serial murders -- Fiction
title_displayThe conjurer
title_fullThe Conjurer [electronic resource] Biddle, Cordelia Frances,
The conjurer / Cordelia Frances Biddle
title_shortThe conjurer
topic_facetClairvoyants
Electronic books
Murder victims
Serial murders